Forums Latest Members

Weems Longines just a bit different

1. powerclocks Nov 15, 2020

Hi, A newbie here with a first posting, I bought this from an Auction House and was going to use is a a daily wear, I paid way more than I was comfortable with but couldn't keep my hand down as they say. Auction fever.

I then had to look at what I had, not being a watch collector I started trawling every site I could to get answers, someone else was willing to pay just a few dollars less than me, were there two idiots in the room or just one that knew what he wanted? I managed to authenticate the watch so that was the first thing that worried me done, It was a Weems, Longines stated that the watch was invoiced to Baume in the UK.

The original serial number 5'415'488 identifies a wristwatch in stainless steel bearing the reference 3930. It is fitted with a Longines manually wound mechanical movement, caliber 12.68Z and was invoiced on 29 May 1937 to the company Baume, which was at that time our agent for the United Kingdom.

The serial number was for 1935 but the odd adjusting wheel in the 4pm position started to become a problem, I had a nice collector send me a newspaper clipping of the same watch through the NAWCC forum but it did not identify the model or the reason for the odd positioning and style of the adjuster. I could not find another one like it anywhere. I needed to get it under the microscope to see it better and assure myself the case was not a later modification.

I did that and I am satisfied the case is as it left the factory, as strange as it is. If it had been a later modification I would have had to congratulate the watchmaker as the workmanship would have been exemplary, as it is, I am satisfied as I earlier stated that it is factory made, but what for?