Forums Latest Members

Was without a UG for less than 10 days...

1. Flatfoot Jan 4, 2018

Hello All, I'm new to OF. This UG subthread has really drawn me in with the knowledge and willingness to share that you all demonstrate.

Over Christmas, I gave my middle son, age 27, a 3 subdial Compax 52217 that I have had for a few years. I have been able to spark interest in old mechanical movement watches in each of my 3 adult sons by periodically giving them a watch. (Funny how that might do it...huh?) I had bought this Compax from a dealer in Europe, and it seemed to be an honest if somewhat tired example. It runs nicely and accurately and the chrono function worked just as it should. The original dial has a lot of fading and, shall we say patina, but still is quite attractive in my view. In my opinion, it was and is a good starter example for a gold vintage chronograph. This UG is his first "old" vintage watch, first gold watch and I know he will take good care of it. Due to some file issues, I can't yet post a photo, but I will once those issues are sorted.

So after our 5 children departed following our Christmas gathering, I began to really miss not having a UG in my stash. I don't regret giving my son the watch at all, but I was twitching a bit - If you know what I mean. Consequently, since Christmas, I've been on the prowl for a nice, original UG chrono to bring an example back into my collection.