Forums Latest Members
  1. Lurk41 Oct 18, 2019

Hi there!

While looking on my search notification today, one of the suggestions I received was a "Vintage Omega De Ville Chronograph". I looked at it and... Omega 146.017. 1400€ (yup, no typo here)

I saw that model a few time on the Internet and only know that 1/ I find it beautiful 2/ this one was waaaay under the average price. The dial is in bad shape though. Apart from that, I am no expert at all of that model, as it was not supposed to be in my price range... Usually I take my time and search for documentation about the model, its several variations, most common fakes that exists, check every detail of the watch, etc. (and most of the time end up buying nothing because those good enough cost too much to my taste :D)

But for once, I thought I had to decide fast because this opportunity may not come twice . So I just did a couple of checks (vendor rating, paypal, dial, hands, case good enough, and serial in similar range than others 146.017 because I remembered they did not build a lot of Cal.930). Also, I thought that for this price, I'll ask Omega for a service and get a new dial (as long as they give me back original hands and dial). Honestly I do not care too much about having a service dial+hands on the watches I wear, as long as the price reflects it (but I won't change a nice patina against a service dial)

So, here it is (close enough... I should receive it next week so only a few pics from the listing for now)

s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600 (1).jpg

I think the varnish bubbled or something, and also some of it was removed and it took the prints with it. It is a shame because the color seems lovely :(

Now... I saw, after I bought it, a thread in which Al was saying Omega do not have dials anymore, and it was quite difficult to find them. Posted in 2014, so I guess no improvement since? Or Omega miraculously started to redo some, just in case?