Forums Latest Members
  1. Omegapool Jan 23, 2020

Hi Everyone,

Complete newbie here after a little advice following a quite impulsive purchase of a Vintage Seamaster 166.020 with 565 calibre movement circa 1966.

The watch looks to be in excellent condition, has been serviced by Omega and is provided with their paperwork and remaining 24 month warranty. It also looks like it has been fitted with a new branded strap. In a bid to avoid any fakes, scams or other issues, I bought from a reputable jeweller in my area. However having browsed this forum after buying, I am quite concerned that I may have paid well over the odds as it cost me £1450 and having seen some of the posts on here it seems that a more realistic price may have been around £500 to £600.

Luckily I still have time to return the watch as it has not been delivered yet, so any advice or guidance on whether or not I have made a major mistake would be greatly appreciated.

One final thing when putting the 166.020 case number in it often mentions Seamaster Deville. The watch I have bought does not have Deville on the face. I read that it was common for them to have one or the other printed on the face in the early 60's but the article I read hinted that by mid to late 60's both names should have been shown. If anyone could shed light on that minor issue I would also be very grateful.

Pics from the website below. Actual pics can follow once it arrives in a day or so if needed.

IMG_20200124_004130.png IMG_20200124_004051.png IMG_20200124_004002.png IMG_20200124_003918.png IMG_20200124_003841.png

2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Jan 23, 2020

You overpaid. Consider it penance for not researching here first.

chronos likes this.
  3. KingCrouchy Jan 23, 2020

You definitely overpaid, this is not a Ref.166020, could be a Ref.166002. For the price you have the advantage of having two years of Warranty.

chronos and Omegapool like this.
  4. Omegapool Jan 23, 2020