Forums Latest Members
  1. Babylon7 Jan 8, 2022

Hi:

I'm new to this forum and am hoping for some advice.

I have a vintage 1020 Seamaster that I inherited from my grandfather.

When I first received it I had it serviced by a local watch maker (June 2018) and it was running well within COSC spec.

Fast forward to today I noticed that it is now running about 1 minute fast per day. Anyhow, what is the typical service interval of this particular vintage? Is 3 years a reasonable time?

I'm not sure if that has anything to do with the watch being in a winder the last two years due to me having to work from home, or that is just the nature of vintage watches.

Any feedback is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Eric

20220108_193508.jpg 20220108_193601.jpg
  2. wagudc Jan 8, 2022

I have heard 3-5 years. So 3 is not unreasonable, especially if it gets regular wrist time.

3. Babylon7 Jan 8, 2022

Thanks. I just did a bit more digging and discovered my watch is magnetized (it messed up my needle compass!). I'm going to order a demagnetizer and see if that help solves the issue.

4. Davidt Jan 9, 2022

I’d say 3 years is quick. I assume 5-10 years, accepting ten is pushing it

5. Babylon7 Jan 9, 2022

That makes me feel better - spending several hundred every 3 years is a bit too steep

6. sleepyastronaut Jan 9, 2022

Three years could be normal for this watch being in a winder.

Isn't it enough to just wind your unworn watch once a month?

7. Babylon7 Jan 9, 2022

Update: the demagnetizer from Amazon arrived today and I gave the watch a quick "de-zap".

The watch went from nearly 30s to 1s per day based on rough measurement.

Screenshot_20220109-145913_Watch Accuracy Meter.jpg Screenshot_20220109-145808_Watch Accuracy Meter.jpg
  8. Dan S Jan 9, 2022