Forums Latest Members
  1. buddyguy Apr 28, 2017

a few years ago i was handed down my grandfathers watch. I'm not interested in selling it, but keeping it in good condition that will hopefully add at least another 50 years to it's life. I never knew much about it, but recently brought it to a well known watch service company in Seattle to look at and also provide an estimate if any maintenance work needed to be done. They came back with (what I think) is a fairly high quote, but i'm a total noob. So i'm looking for some advice and also help dating and valuing the watch.

First Pictures!
    2017-04-10 12.48.20.jpg 2017-04-10 12.48.34.jpg 2017-04-10 12.48.53.jpg 2017-04-10 12.49.02.jpg 2017-04-10 12.49.09.jpg

1. Given the info they pulled from the watch and what it looks like, i think it's a Omega Centenary (and one of the rarer ones, see p. 8). Is anyone able to provide a broad valuation?
    Your movement serial number 10,761,249 which ages it to 1944
    Your case serial number is 10,724,005
    Your movement caliber is 30.10.RA which is also known as an Omega 330

2. I was quoted $850 for a complete maintenance service. It seems rather expensive to me, but i have no idea if the work is warranted or if it's worth it for the value of this watch. I was also surprised how much work they said needs to be done. After sitting in my drawer for years, I started wearing it over the past few weeks and have been surprised at how accurate it's kept time. I'm also concerned with any work or parts replacement that end up devaluing the watch. i.e. if they refinish the case or replace the crystal and crown (they mentioned doing that when i first visited, but didn't quote it over email).

Movement Service; disassembly, 5 stage cleaning, lubrication, adjustment, timing
    Replacement of worn or damaged interior parts if necessary