Forums Latest Members

Vintage Caravelle Seahunter

1. nick17 Feb 13, 2019

Hi I’m new to collecting and was wondering if anyone knew if my automatic caravelle seahunter from the 70s is a mechanical auto or if it’s fully automatic and also if anyone could explain how you are able to tell which is which.

Number on movement was 1453 30 P

And numbers caseback
    1024 (in bold black)

Only thing I know is I believe they didn’t make automatic seahunter until the early or mid 70s u less I was misinformed. Any info appreciated!!

2. Lbreak Feb 13, 2019

It would help a lot if you could post some pictures...

I can't quite understand what you were referring to as "mechanical auto or fully automatic", aren't these terms referring to the same thing?? Anyway, there are only two kinds of mechanical movements in terms of winding -- manual and automatic. Automatic movements has a rotor that turns as your wrist moves, and that winds up the movement for you.

connieseamaster likes this.
  3. Professor Feb 14, 2019

I suspect that some of the unusual new phrases making their way into internet communications are by products of inaccurate translations from some Asian languages to English.
    I've seen the term fully automatic watch in descriptions on Ebay, usually the watch turned out to be a Quartz type.

Another odd term is a case or watch without band being called a "watch head".
    I first noticed this when projectiles or bullets for reloading rifle cartridges were described as bullet heads or cartridge heads, or sometimes as points.

4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Feb 14, 2019

It's not an odd term - it's one that is commonly used in the watch industry.

5. Professor Feb 14, 2019

It may be commonly used, but odd just the same. I suspect it came about through translation of a non English term.

Do you know of any online glossary of watch makers nomenclature I could study?

6. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Feb 14, 2019