Forums Latest Members

Vintage 1965 Speedmaster Refurbished by Omega - Mistake?

1. jkolinger Jun 1, 2018

I have a 1965 speedmaster professional, 321 caliber. Wore it since i was about 15 (when big watches were not common - at least from what I saw). After 30 years of wear it was pretty beat up. Eventually it stopped working because moisture got in. Sent it to Omega in Biel-Bienne. for about $1200 they restored it. All replacement parts were returned to me. (Face, case, back, hands, springs, some gears...). I could have refused some of the repairs, but I thought I would like to have the watch restored to look as new and flawless as possible. As time has gone on I wondered if I made a mistake on not keeping it as original as possible in the event I wanted to sell it.
    Wondering everyone's opinion. Did I destroy its resale value? Can I recover from this operation?
    But I am now to the point where I wear it because I like how it looks, and i guess i'll just give it to one of my kids eventually.
    Is a 321 from 1965, rebuilt by omega more valuable... or less, than one that is all original?
    If a mistake - can I just have Omega reassemble the watch with the original parts? Would I then be able to sell it as a collector's watch? (Photos of the watch in current condition and original parts.) IMG_5804.JPG IMG_6025 - Copy.JPG IMG_6026 - Copy.JPG IMG_6027 - Copy.JPG IMG_5804.JPG IMG_6025 - Copy.JPG IMG_6026 - Copy.JPG IMG_6027 - Copy.JPG IMG_6028.JPG IMG_6029.JPG IMG_6030.JPG IMG_6031.JPG IMG_6032.JPG IMG_6033.JPG IMG_6034.JPG IMG_6035.JPG

2. MikeMan2727 Jun 1, 2018

Personally I would have kept it original. Luckily you have all the parts so it can easily be reassembled by any competent watchmaker. Do NOT send to Omega again.

Most collectors here will prefer originality.

3. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Jun 1, 2018

Where's the original bezel? Did I miss that?

4. abrod520 Jun 1, 2018

It was already replaced, it's a DNN on the original case in the photos.