Forums Latest Members
  1. thearizonacowboy Aug 24, 2015

Hi all! I'm new here but a huge fan of Omega. I have a few Seamasters and really enjoy them.

Any way, I recently acquired a vintage 1950's Seamaster with a 17 jewel movment. Here are some photos:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

As you can see, the movement is a bit rough. Along with the beat up hands... (how does this happen!?)

I'm looking to replace the hands and learn a little bit about the watch. I'm fascinated by watches and especially by their history...

If anyone has any info on the exact model #, year, etc I would greatly appreciate some info! I'm a beginner in the vintage watch realm and willing to learn!

ETA:

The watch was just barely acquired and I have no idea of the service record. I'm looking to get it serviced and over-hauled but would like the opinions of my fellow man before I alter it in any way.

Edited Aug 24, 2015
  2. thearizonacowboy Aug 24, 2015

Here's a photo of the back (which, following the theme, is beat up:():

[​IMG]

3. Pvt-Public Aug 24, 2015

The movement is from the late 40's. The dial doesn't look right, all the lettering, the minute track,and the second hand. Case back looks like "OMEGA" was engraved by a shaky hand and a dremel tool, not to mention all the other writing that I don't think belongs there. Just hope you didn't pay much for this, as I think that it is not what it seems to be. But maybe some of the experts will come and prove me wrong.

Edited Aug 24, 2015
    Giff2577 likes this.
  4. thearizonacowboy Aug 24, 2015

Thank you for the information so far... I paid $130.00 for this piece. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your opinion and what you know.

5. Canuck Aug 24, 2015

http://www.ranfft.de/cgi-bin/bidfun-db.cgi?10&ranfft&&2uswk&Omega_30_10RA_PC