Forums Latest Members

Using a Mechanical Watch as a Compass...

1. Tony C. Ωf Jury member May 30, 2024

I've been collecting mechanical watches for ~30 years, and never knew this.

::facepalm2::

compass7.png

DaveK, DSotW, McKnife and 5 others like this.
  2. reverbtime May 30, 2024

The SARB017 Alpinist booklet/manual has a nice diagram about this too.

Edit: Would be interesting to know if anybody has actually used this when needing orientation pre-cellphones.

sxl2004, Joe_A and Tony C. like this.
  3. Pastorbottle May 30, 2024

Yeah it's an old bush trick

Tony C. and Waltesefalcon like this.
  4. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. May 30, 2024

Yup knew about it from the Alpinist. Sometimes do it as a party trick.

Tony C. likes this.
  5. UWG May 30, 2024

Yes, I learned it, when I was in the Bundeswehr.

Tony C. and Waltesefalcon like this.
  6. Waltesefalcon May 30, 2024

When I was a Webelo leader back when my sons were young I taught my young Webelos how to do this. (Yes, I do like saying Webelo.)

7. MRC May 30, 2024

Taught to Boy Scouts in the UK. But in the 1960s few of us had a wristwatch so looking for the mossy side of trees, roofs, etc was more commonly used. Keeping track on your map was the most reliable...

Peemacgee and Waltesefalcon like this.
  8. Jones in LA Not in LA anymore. May 30, 2024

I've tested this a few times and am always surprised at how well it works. As the instruction states, if you are in a location where the clock has been advanced forward for Summer Time (and you're located in the Northern Hemisphere), take your Sun sighting from the marker that's one hour less than the indicated hour.

Tony C. likes this.
  9. MRC May 30, 2024