Forums Latest Members

Universal Medico - Double Signed Chrono...need your opinions!

1. korneevy Jul 2, 2021

Hello, full disclosure - I am very new to UG and in general vintage watches...been active in modern/neo vintage over the past 10 years, and have a collections of mainly AP, Vacheron, Rolex, Blancpain etc. I love chronographs and seeing a lot of value in Universal as compared to many other brands of similar standing - history, manufacture roots, nice designs and in every now and then, nicely sized cases. I finally worked up enough courage, started to read this and other forums, got a copy of Sala's book etc but still in early stage of my journey. I have handed a few UG's in real life but in Singapore where I live, that sort of market is rather small so I will be likely buying a piece from Europe and have it shipped there. I am a big guy so anything below 38mm looks rather cartoonish on me so I've been on a look out for an "jumbo" sized UG for a while and this one come up a few weeks ago. By the looks of it, the dial has been refinished but done rather nicely, and the seller says the movement runs very will, with good amplitude and quite accurate for its age; hit dates solidly to 1952 & I love the Gobbi co-signature and as I have some connection to Milan, this is a nice touch for me.

So my obvious questions where I am seeking help are:

1. Dial: what do you think of the dial? My concerns are UG's signature is sort of lacking the accent grave over "E" in "Genève" and "Gobbi Milan" is a little crooked and lacking a comma in between "Gobbi" and "Milan", I have seen several variants of that signature such as "Gobbi, Milano" for example on some Pateks but can not find one where the comma is missing. Any other thoughts on the dial will be also welcomed!
    2. Hands: appear to be original so I do not have much concerns there