Forums Latest Members

Tough times in sales corners

1. ewand Feb 18, 2018

I'm relatively new to this hobby (only been collecting properly for a couple of years), so maybe this is nothing new - but I'm noticing quite a lot of watches languishing in the sales corners of various fora, not uncommonly with comments by onlookers like "why is this still here?" ... You'd think watchrecon and its like would make it easier to sell watches, as people who wouldn't normally be looking in one forum's for sale section will be more easily able to discover it.

Now, you could say that a watch sitting unsold for ages means it's just over-priced (and that may well be true), but it's pretty common to see same quality or less good watches shifting on eBay for more money.

Is this a new phenomenon? A cyclical thing?

Mr.Cairo likes this.
  2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Feb 18, 2018

cyclical.

3. plowjockey Feb 18, 2018

Post Christmas slump perhaps.

4. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Feb 18, 2018

Watch season starts at the end of Jan so only just started.
    Many here have seen the yearly flood of listings in February as people deal with Christmas / holidays break spending.
    March being the Month all the great condition watches come out and is peak trading season.

Have looked at a few lately but March is where you want your money ready.

This is vintage dress to my knowledge speedmasters is a whole different ballgame lately

Couple of post about it

https://omegaforums.net/threads/where-are-all-the-mint-136-011-135-011-found-it.50383/#post-605238

5. Buck2466 Feb 18, 2018

The only reason why something doesn't sell is because of price IMO, whether it be a watch, car, house, etc. If it is priced right it will sell. eBay is an auction and you never know what you're going to get. If a bidding war breaks out, lookout-cookout. eBay also has a lot more exposure than Watchrecon.

6. lillatroll Feb 18, 2018