Forums Latest Members

Tough question.... the one that got away!

1. GTAKnights Oct 16, 2019

ladies and gentlemen,

I'm new to collecting (2-3 years) and now have 5 watches. Sinn 556, Seiko Samurai, King Seiko, a Doxa and a vintage Seiko chrono. Love Omega's but haven't fallen in love yet ... kind of like saying i like blonds but haven't gotten married yet... lmao. I have small wrists so find most modern day dive watches and chrono's too big and frankly I'm cheap so new watches don't seem like great value.

I have observed, correct me if I'm wrong, that many collectors slowly sell and trade away lower value pieces to make room for more collectible or luxury pieces. I see myself going down this path as I buy too many watches too fast but I also believe this is the only way to truly find out what you like. You can't simply try on or even own a watch you must WEAR it to know it. The size, the brand, the story and complications... what speaks to you?

That being said my question for those more experienced collectors is this: As you have built your collection which value watches ($0 - $1350 USD) have you either kept because you just couldn't part with them or wish you never got rid of even while looking in your watch case full of all your beautiful pieces? Or even pieces that you keep going back to in either a newer version or in better vintage condition... just can't seem to shake and why?