Forums Latest Members
  1. heavenscloud Oct 12, 2014

2. Rallis Oct 12, 2014

I'm no seasoned expert, (making this opinion basically mute), but something about it just looks a little off. Those hands look way over polished for its era, the spacing between the letters in Omega and Automatic looks really suspect and free handed, so I'm guessing re-dial. The crown looks like its developed an edging from being hit with a hammer, a few hundred times. The lugs look like they've been polished to an inch of their life. And whilst the case back is correct, it looks like someone went about opening it with a table knife.
    I'd avoid that thing as if it were a shopping mall during school holidays.

3. DON Oct 12, 2014

Too much damage to case and inside looks pitted around the edge.

4. Mothra Oct 12, 2014

Is that a hole in the bezel at 4:30? Also that hour marker at 7 shouldn't be offset on the dial track; the movement is filthy as well so you'd need to budget for a service.

5. DON Oct 12, 2014

Not a hole - just crud

6. heavenscloud Oct 12, 2014

Thank you, gents. I don't mind the case being scratched up and I already factored in the much-needed service. I agree with Rallis' comment about the hands and Mothra's comment about the dial (marker at 7--maybe it's just falling off?). I'm curious if the cal. 500 is the right movement for this watch.

7. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Oct 12, 2014

It is.

http://www.omegawatches.com/planet-omega/heritage/vintage-watches-database?ref=14720

However, whether this movement is original to this particular watch, I can't say. There are several different colors in there. Could be nothing buy poor service, or it could be built from a pile of parts. Also, I'm not crazy about that dial. Don't see Swiss Made below "6". I suspect an older redial.

Not a high value piece.
    gatorcpa

8. Rallis Oct 12, 2014