Forums Latest Members
  1. dogar3005 Jan 17, 2017

Hi,

I'm very new to the vintage watch game and am looking to buy my first piece to get me started.
    I came across this piece listed on the shpock app (local classifieds app) in my area and thought it looked a good deal for the price. The seller is willing to accept £120 sterling for it. I would be meeting the seller in person to view the item before purchasing as he says that the battery needs replacing and would be replacing the battery and checking watch functions before purchasing - this would give me a good chance to get a look inside the case at the actual movement.

I have attached the photos which the seller provided so please have a look at these.

After doing some (limited) research, I have found that the 1297/263 bracelet was used on ref 196 0083 models and I suspect it should have an omega 1342 movement (please correct me if I am wrong). The seller has not provided these so it is impossible to say at this stage.

Although the bracelet markings check out, the writing on the clasp is 'flipped over' compared to one example I have seen selling on eBay. I don't know whether this is anything to be concerned about?

I also am not sure about the "seamaster" writing as the top of the letter 's' does not have a flick, and the letter 'm' is not as slanted as I have seen in some pictures of other seamasters. It is also written in a slightly bold font compared to how I have seen it on other models.

In addition to this, the word 'Quartz' seems a little small to me as most quartz seamasters I have seen have the letter 'z' of the quartz ending right underneath the second 'e' in seamaster.

I am a complete novice at this and have no experience in this field so any help would be greatly appreciated.