Forums Latest Members
  1. Fer Seamaster Sep 23, 2015

Searching in Ebay I found this UG Compax "Evil Nina", but there are some points that makes me see it as "red flags" for not bidding. Nevertheless, I am not an expert in this reference (in fact, I am not an expert in anything :)), so I would like to see your thoughts.

Current bid is at 6.550 EUR, which is a good price, probably because of all those red flags.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I think:
    - I think hour and minutes hands are not matching this reference, but the blueyish Tri-Compax.
    - Hour counter hand is obvously a replacement.
    - Case and caseback are overpolished.
    - Bracelet endlinks are not matching this case (I do not know if they are correct or not); as I do not know if bracelet itself, marked 1-63, is correct.
    - The worst part I think is movement, which is clearly not corresponding to this watch... But I do not know if it is from UG origin, as it is not marked 285 or anyhing.

My conclussion:
    - Good case, good bezel, original bracelet -but perhaps not corresponding to this watch, good dial... But a wrong movement or, at least, with replaced parts. Does it makes sense to bid on this?

2. Jonatan Sep 23, 2015

From what I've read it should be a Valjoux 72 in there. I don't see why it would be written UNIVER and not UNIVERSAL GENEVE. Then again it could have to do with the market and which part of the world the watch is from. Not an expert here, just giving my two cents.

Capture d’écran 2015-09-23 à 11.37.25.png Capture d’écran 2015-09-23 à 11.41.48.png
  3. Fer Seamaster Sep 23, 2015