Forums Latest Members
  1. Crizq0 Nov 7, 2018

Thoughts on constellation? I am new to this and have been doing as much reading here and on desmond's blog.
    DSC_0342.jpg DSC_0345 (1).jpg DSC_0346.jpg DSC_0347.jpg DSC_0348.jpg DSC_0349.jpg DSC_0351.jpg DSC_0353.jpg DSC_0355.jpg
    My thoughts are:
    Pie-pan with oxidation and spotting.
    Gold hour markers look good however lume may have been washed off but still glow with UV.
    Hands look original with lume present.
    Font looks correct
    Based on serial number I am thinking it is from 1959 or 1960
    Ref 14381-2 SC
    Cal 551 Movement appears to be original? No mismatching colored parts. Dirty and probably needs servicing.
    Caseback over polished.
    Lugs look soft and overpolished. Between the lugs there is corrosion and pitting.

Questions:
    Is the no “T” next to swiss made and no “officially certified” because of the year it was made and not required?

The black spot at each hour marker is that old lume material or a mark on the dial to help with aligning the hour markers and/or to help with the placement of lume? With UV light those darks spots do glow faintly. I couldn’t zoom any closer.

The second hand and the omega symbol have a rose color appearance. Is that oxidation or replacement?

The crown has a different shade of gold however is does match the shade of the hour hands, so not sure if it is orginal.

2. padders Oooo subtitles! Nov 7, 2018