Forums Latest Members
  1. Shem Dec 20, 2013

I've been looking for an Omega dress watch, the older the better, in virtually perfect condition with all original parts -- a tall order, I know. I seem to have found a candidate, and while I would strongly prefer stainless over yellow gold, the combination of condition and age of this one seem fantastic...provided it's all original as the seller claims. Any thoughts from the experts? I'm new to vintage Omegas, particularly ones of this age.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/STUNNING-19...INTAGE-ANTIQUE-MENS-GENTS-WATCH-/251405680201Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

2. Northernman Lemaniac Dec 20, 2013

Franken. I would not pay GBP10 for it.

3. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Dec 20, 2013

I disagree. I think the watch is original and has been nicely restored. Movement looks to have been well maintained.

The dial is porcelain. These can be refurbished and any hairline cracks filled in by an expert. When done properly the original printing is not disturbed. I would not classify it as a redial.

Movement is from early 1930's and is consistent with the dial type and the hands.

Only issue I have is the price. Over $1K for a gold plated Omega?

I think not.
    gatorcpa

4. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Dec 20, 2013

The case has likely been re-plated, but I think the movement/dial are original to the case.

More like a $400-$500 watch.

5. Habitant Dec 20, 2013

But surely the central issue is the seller's statement that it is 'All original!' Sorry, but I have a really hard time believing that statement; that being said, it does look as though good work has been done on it. But all original doesn't mean re-plating, re-dialing, does it? For these reasons, I think it's over-priced.

6. Northernman Lemaniac Dec 20, 2013

Can't see the value in it.
    Overrestored at best. As a first vintage I would stay clear.

7. Tire-comedon First Globemaster Dec 20, 2013