Forums Latest Members

Thinking hard about building a vintage Seamaster 300

1. voere pawn brokers are all about $$$ Jun 12, 2016

The watch would be used for every day wear not trying to build a gaff watch. I have some Seamasters in my collection that have the correct movements. I see the kits that are all Omega new parts on the net and ebay
    Damn I am tempted to build one I have a vintage original Seamaster 300 that is very collectable that is not a beater but a new put together would be fun project for me plus I would not have to worry about damage on the new example
    Any Thoughts?

Edited Jun 12, 2016
  2. watchlovr Jun 12, 2016

Do it.

stomart, OMGRLX and ErikR like this.
  3. WatchVaultNYC Jun 12, 2016

[​IMG]

Giff2577 and OMGRLX like this.
  4. rbob99 Jun 12, 2016

Do it. You can wear without worry.

OMGRLX likes this.
  5. voere pawn brokers are all about $$$ Jun 12, 2016

I have been running some $$ numbers so far I come up with 2200 hundred and some change for the parts that is with no bracelet that is no issue for me I would have to use this Omega Seamater cal 565 movment the cal 565 in this one looks new and runs great If I am lucky I may be able to bring the cost down to around 2000 In the morning I will check some supply houses for parts sometimes I luck out and find better prices.
    I have I budget of 2500 to bring this project home time will tell..... Only down side is losing the Seamaster in the picture

a21f0b9c-d408-4aee-9b1d-81cc2809e725_zpsvom4fkix.jpg
  6. gemini4 Hoarder Of Speed et alia Jun 12, 2016

I'm confused. Your planning to build a "vintage SM300". Aren't you actually building a Watchco style assembly using a Franken movement and new service parts? Sorry, but I don't see any "vintage" in your put together project.

7. voere pawn brokers are all about $$$ Jun 12, 2016

New parts vintage movement VINTAGE style new parts call it what ever you wish it will be a daily wearer that will be rode hard