Forums Latest Members
  1. Galloping_Geezer Aug 9, 2020

Howdy gang. In a previous thread, I asked for your guys opinion on getting parts and accessories for your omega that is a different metal than the watch case. The consensus was that its better to have hardware match in precious metal tones instead of having mixed metals. I have a gold-filled seamaster with a nonomega gold crown. Ofrei sells a crown and female post that would fit but its stainless steel.

It dawned on me that If I was to buy the crown, I can go to a place that provides gold plating services with hopes that they can turn the crown from stainless steel to gold plated.

Has anyone ever done this? Were you successful? Anything I should take into consideration prior to getting it done?

2. Vercingetorix Spam Risk Aug 9, 2020

Would need to be plated with nickel first I believe. Gold plate would probably be too thin, and wear out quickly.

3. DaveK Yoda of Yodelers Aug 9, 2020

You can do a site search here for replateit. A lot of discussion has been done about these services, so maybe that will help. they are in Montreal, and there are others that do it as well

Galloping_Geezer and janice&fred like this.
  4. DON Aug 9, 2020

There are other parts suppliers

Try Jules Borel

Canada - Perrin

UK Cousins

If need be. Buy an Omega crown that works with your case, but of a different style.

Cheaper than the gold plated idea

DON

5. Franco Aug 9, 2020

Plating on a high wear part like a crown , is not a great idea. Will have to be thick nickel, followed by thick gold

mac_omega and Galloping_Geezer like this.
  6. Galloping_Geezer Aug 9, 2020

Darn. I was hoping this would be my solution for a gold crown.