Forums Latest Members

The vintage price appreciation curve (VPAC)

1. slique12 Apr 13, 2017

Some of us collect only for the love of watches. Very few of us collect only to invest in watches. But, I assume many of us fall somewhere in the middle - we want to own vintage pieces we love and would prefer to not lose money along the way.

I'm new to vintage watches. How new you ask? 12-18 months, and lately, I've been thinking about something quite a bit - what is the appreciation curve for vintage watches? Yes, there are thousands of vintage watches, and hundreds of scenarios where these watches will appreciate (or not) differently, but the key question is:

If one buys a vintage watch whose price is on it's way up (price trend suggests the bottom was in the past), and at fair market price at the time (not pay 50%+ at an overpriced dealer), how likely is it that one will lose money at any point in the future? Or using the graph below, how likely is it that the price trend goes down after it crosses the vertical grey line?
    VAC.png
    I hope this creates a healthy discussion so that folks that are new (like myself) can benefit from the wisdom of those who have been doing this for 10/20/30 years.

And yes, I decided to introduce a new acronym - VPAC. Why? Because why not:)

shishy likes this.
  2. shishy www.hpmor.com Apr 13, 2017

Haha, I've been collecting vintage watches for an even shorter duration but was thinking about just this in class earlier. I was trying to find data on historical vintage watch sales to build models and look at this. As you said, I imagine it depends on a variety of factors (e.g. social media "influencers", etc.).