Forums Latest Members

The curious story of an Omega Tower Clock 1928 in a remote village in Greece

1. 489G May 9, 2016

I am a Greek amateur historian, writing about the curious history of the Omega clock tower of the remote and mountainous village of Nymfaion (Nevesca), in Macedonia, Western Greece (http://static.panoramio.com/photos/medium/12170794.jpg)

The building and clock tower were built in 1927-1928 by Jean Nicou (1876-1930), a wealthy Greek of Nymfaion, who had emigrated to Sweden.

Jean Nicou became very wealthy as a tobacco merchant, worked for the Swedish Tobacco Monopoly, and donated a magnificent school in his native Nymfaion, equipped with the latest science and chemistry instruments.

Apparently he got in touch with both Omega and the Rüetschi AG company in Aarau from whom he bought an Omega clock and a Rüetschi AG Aarau bell, which he put on the clock tower.

Both the clock and bell are in working, if poor, condition, still chiming the half hour and hours when properly winded (running takes about one week and then needs rewinding). The town people remember the clock being originally powered by batteries and later (in 1968) modified to work with a pendulum mechanism.

The four faces of the clock bear an OMEGA sign in Greek, ΩΜΕΓΑ, as well as a puzzling BOURLA (ΜΠΟΥΡΛΑ in Greek).

I am not aware of any other Omega Tower Clocks nor of any instances where the Omega brand name was written in Greek. And I am puzzled by the word BOURLA on the four faces of the clock.

Can any OMEGA expert provide more information of such Omega clocks elsewhere or possibly help solve the mystery of the BOURLA inscription on the four faces of the clock?

Thank you!

Clock Tower.jpg Omega Clock.jpg Ruetschi Bell.jpg OMEGA BOURLA.png
    0uss, Omegafanman, Jwit and 11 others like this.
  2. lillatroll May 9, 2016

Hello.