Forums Latest Members

Speedy Pro or Transocean Chrono for Pilot

1. lance78c May 16, 2017

Hi, guys,
    I'm new to the forum and I'd like to know what you guys think about these two watches as pilot watches. First off, I understand that this is an Omega forum, so I have an idea of what you guys think, but I know that many of you own Breitlings as well. To me the watches have a similar draw in that they convey a lot of information in a relatively simple and organized manner. I've always been a huge fan of Breitling--their marketing is second to none-- but I also am enamored with the aeronautical history surrounding the Omega. I am a pilot, soon to be airline, so visibility is also something to take into account. Also, if you have any other suggestions for a chronograph pilot's watch, I'd love to learn about them. IWC pilot watches are sublime, but they are out of my price range. Thanks in advance.

ras47 and Mad Dog like this.
  2. Mad Dog rockpaperscissorschampion May 16, 2017

You are a pilot...ANY watch that you wear as a pilot is automatically a pilot watch. Of course, that's just my
    opinion. :D

IMG_4837.JPG

IMG_4836.JPG

IMG_0823.JPG

IMG_0817.JPG

IMG_0702.JPG

IMG_2535.JPG

IMG_4212.JPG

IMG_6193.JPG

IMG_8198.JPG

Edited May 18, 2017
  3. ras47 May 16, 2017

I could never pull off the two watch look, even for a quick pose. In fact, you and Buzz Aldrin are the only people I know that could do it. I'd simply come off as a poncy douche. You guys that actually fly (of flew) have the gravitas to make it work. Buzz, in fact, has been seen with THREE watches at once. And he rocks it. :)

oddboy and Mad Dog like this.
  4. kkt May 16, 2017

If you're thinking of greatest readability, without going to a pocket watch, maybe a Railmaster? Here's the tribute to the 1957 edition,
    railmaster_01.jpg

Mad Dog likes this.
  5. ras47 May 16, 2017