Forums Latest Members
  1. Revo Jul 28, 2021

I have a 1998 Speedmaster Reduced 3510.50 automatic with the "piggyback" movement (DD chrono module on an ETA base ebauche).

It keeps great time but seems to stop when worn unless the mainspring is "topped up" with a hand wind via the crown. My local watchmaker and friend has serviced it (cleaned, oiled and adjusted) but the problem persists.

I've reached out to Simon Freese as I hear great things about him on here and elsewhere but just wondering if this a common / known issue and if there's a simple solution.

Could just be that I'm not active enough to keep it wound but I've never had this problem with other autos I own.

Thanks

2. Revo Jul 28, 2021

PS never sure if a 1990's watch is "vintage" or "modern" so if this is in the wrong section please move it!

3. padders Oooo subtitles! Jul 28, 2021

I can maybe help with this. I'll pm you

Revo likes this.
  4. Revo Jul 28, 2021

Thanks! Was just about to reply to your email so that's perfect timing.

5. sirtaifun Jul 28, 2021

When was last complete service?

6. sirtaifun Jul 28, 2021

I mean did your friend serviced the movement with or without the DD module and did he changed the spring?

7. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jul 28, 2021

Did he service the entire movement, including the module? People are often mistakenly under the impression that the module doesn't need regular servicing, in particular if they don't use the chronograph a lot. They are under the impression that the module is only for the chronograph, but in fact every hand that moves on the dial is being moved by the chronograph module, including the hour and minute hands, and the constant seconds hand, plus all the chronograph hands.

Unless your watchmaker serviced all of it, he's only done half the job.

Revo likes this.
  8. Revo Jul 28, 2021