Forums Latest Members

Auto winding issue with Cal 1120 (after Omega service)

1. Top-Gun Jul 19, 2020

I have a Seamaster 2531.80 that I had serviced at Omega (Toronto) back in 2018. When I recieved the watch back from service, I noticed it didn't seem to auto wind like it used too. Starting with a full wind and wearing every day for a work week (over 12 hrs a day) used to yield the full reserve capacity of 40+ hrs if left over the weekend. After service, I'm lucky to see 24-28 hrs from the same wear. Note that if I wind it fully and let it run down it has nearly 50 hrs of reserve, so it seemed the auto wind wasn't keeping it topped up.

I sent the watch back to Omega with this complaint, they checked it out and sent it back stating everything is good. Wore it as normal and found no change in performance. Feeling like maybe I wasn't being active enough or something I foolishly accepted that they must know what they're doing and it must not be a problem.

I recently purchased a winder and thought I'd conduct an experiment. I fully wound the watch and placed it in the winder for a week (winding 700 turns per day I believe, bi-directional). Shut the winder off after 5 days, and the watch died 28 hrs later. My understanding is this should have kept it fully topped up.

It seems no matter what, it just will not wind enough to keep more than 24-28hrs reserve. I'm very frustrated as getting the watch back to Omega for repair is very difficult for me, and I believe now it's past the two year warranty on the service. They've already had two chances and I have zero confidence they'll fix it on a third attempt.

Would anyone happen to know what the issue could be so I can very specifically ask the "experts" what to check/replace?

Thanks,

Rob

Speedy2254 and DSotW like this.
  2. Canuck Jul 19, 2020