Forums Latest Members

Speedmaster Power Reserve & Service

1. NF36 Dec 11, 2019

Hello, I am new here. I hope to have a question about my speedmaster answered. I have a speedmaster that I purchased new approximately 3 1/2 years ago. It was manufactured 4 years ago. I wear it every day and I wind it full every morning. Recently, I noticed that it stopped in the middle of the day. I gave it a full wind and tested the power reserve which resulted in approximately 47 hours. I should note that despite the fact I have read that the speedmaster power reserve should last a few hours longer, the couple of times I have tested mine it has not gone beyond 48 hours. Anyway, all went well for about a month until this morning when it stopped again approximately 24 hours after winding.

I have read that a short power reserve may be an indication that the watch requires service. However, this watch is well short of being five years old per the serial number and has only been in use 3 1/2 years. I have also read that sometimes people do not fully wind of their speedmasters and experience such problems. I am fairly certain that I am fully winding this movement to the point where there is significant resistance that will not allow more.

Should I send this watch in for service early, or should I run it until the fifth year of use and then send it in? Any thoughts will be appreciated.

Edited Dec 11, 2019
  2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Dec 11, 2019

There are many watches called "Speedmaster" so knowing which specific watch you have, and what movement is inside would be helpful.

But assuming this is a Speedmaster Pro, with a Cal. 1861 inside, are you fully winding the watch until it cannot be wound any further? If so, and it has never run more than 38 hours, then it has never worked properly. My gut tells me that you have not been winding it fully.

Cheers, Al

3. NF36 Dec 11, 2019