Forums Latest Members
  1. LouisaMay Sep 28, 2015

Hi there!

Not only am I new to this forum – I am new to the entire world of watches! Still, I’m so hoping that you experts can help! It’s my husband’s 30th birthday in 4 weeks and the only watch I’ve ever heard him sigh about is the Moonwatch Pro. I cannot afford to buy him a brand new one but was hoping to get him a wonderful, mint condition watch of his very own.

What I’d love your advice on (and I realize it all comes down to personal taste) is how vintage I should go? 70s? 90s? 2000s? Jack really likes clean, simple, not too bulky – but the story is so important for these watches. I cannot spend more than 3,000 US and would love to spend no more than 2,500 but that may not be possible.

I’m currently looking at a 1974 Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch st 145.022 for approx. $2,700 and a 2008 st 3570.50 for the same price. I’ve read that the 1970s editions are pretty special, but again that could be all personal opinion.

Do any of you have any advice for a watch for a man who doesn’t have a special one yet – what is the most important thing I should be looking for (beyond making sure papers come with the watch and I buy from a trusted seller!)?

I so appreciate this! Thank you.

Lou

2. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Sep 28, 2015

3. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Sep 28, 2015

I'd actually get the modern one just because its likely to be in better condition internally, has a sturdier bracelet for daily wear and '74 isn't really that special. The newer one will look better and for all intents and purposes *be* better, especially as the '74 will almost certainly need a service on top of its asking price, likely with some parts replacement.

Last thing you want is to buy the '74, have it stop on him and face a ~1K+ bill for a full overhaul with parts.

4. LouisaMay Sep 28, 2015

Wonderful advice, thank you dsio!!!

5. LouisaMay Sep 28, 2015

6. watchcollect Sep 28, 2015