Forums Latest Members
  1. 17SGS Aug 12, 2019

Hello all - this is my first post. I am new to the watch collecting scene and wanting to get started with my first nice timepiece. I have found MANY things that I want, and am trying to get the best value for my starting budget ($2k - $3k). A local jewelry store recently lost their status as an AD for Omega and have placed all their new Omegas on sale at 35% off retail. The selection is pretty good, but one that catches my eye is a Speedmaster Date (I believe its a 3210.50.00). It is marked at $2275 which seems to be about the going rate for a used version on many of the usual sites.

I've read many good reviews of the watch, and a few that say to 'get the Pro' which seems to be a mantra for purists. But I plan to buy what I like, so not terribly worried about those types of opinions. I am more interested in whether its a quality piece at a reasonable price. Looking for feedback from owners on this one.

P.S. They have a new Moonwatch for $3400 and I'd be all over that, but I want the sapphire crystal (this one is hesalite).

Thanks in advance for the replies.

Ryguy008 likes this.
  2. Ryguy008 Aug 13, 2019

Seems to me you’ve made up your mind already! However as someone who was once in your shoes let me run some points by you for reference.

I had a Speedmaster “reduced” and loved it. However, I eventually “drank the koolaid” and caved; buying a Moonwatch and never looking back.

From a watch owners perspective there’s something about winding that watch every day that gets me.. The reduced never had that same feeling. Something that really got me going every morning.

Further more I believe the date (like the reduced) has 19mm lugs instead of 20 mm lugs. This doesn’t seem like a big difference, but it allows you to change straps across many more watches (for example my Seiko monster has 20mm lugs so nato straps are cross compatible).