Speaking of classic cars, I need suggestions...

I didn't want to hijack the prior thread on classic cars, so I'll start my own. Here's my situation:

A few months ago, I sold my 2016 Mercedes E-350 and bought a proper family car - a 2022 Volvo XC90.
The change was needed because our 2004 Acura MDX was showing its age and my wife and daughter didn't like going out in the Mercedes because they found it uncomfortable (it was lowered so stiff suspension, it scraped on speed bumps, dogs didn't fit, etc.)

The XC90 is now my daily driver but as comfortable as it is, I miss the experience of driving a sporty, one-person "fun" car to zip around in. It would be a daily driver.

I'm a professional (an attorney, to be precise) so it needs to something a client can get into without feeling I drive a jalopy, so something a little vintage & yet classy.

I'm entertaining the idea of a 60's American muscle car, 1970's BMW 2002, a 1980's BMW 325i or Mercedes 560SL or something along those lines. I'm also thinking a 1975 or older car that is smog exempt in California, so I can customize the engine to my liking.

I'm setting a budget of $10K to find something that does not need major restoration investment and serves as a daily driver out the gate.

I'd like to hear your suggestions and ideas of what car can be my new vintage project.

(Here's a pic of my W212 that I sorely miss):

Of that list I've only driven a BMW 2002. OK I actually drove a 1600, but that glasshouse with the thin pillars is so different to modern cars. Just don't crash and roll it over, right? I have no idea about prices but a finger in the wind suggests that a decent 2002 may be outside your budget. Well honestly anything on your list that isn't a future money-pit will be too.

Only other BMW I've driven was a 1980s 320i on winter tyres and studs on a frozen lake in New Hampshire.

+ 2002 or 320i, well supported aftermarket, simple enough to work on yourself if you like.