Forums Latest Members

Somewhat new collector and photographer here

1. bitman84 Nov 13, 2020

Hello....I'm new to the world of Omega. Vintage watches have an appeal to me and currently own a vintage Breitling. Having been told that everyone should at least own a Speedy once I, I figured this would be a good place to start. I make my living as a photographer so hopefully I can help out on the photo section a little bit. Glad to be here.

2. Gav1967 Tend not to fret too much Nov 13, 2020

Let me be the first to welcome you with a well known phrase around these parts
    "Photos or it didn't happen"

DaveK, bitman84, befobe and 1 other person like this.
  3. SkunkPrince Nov 13, 2020

"Pics or it didn't happen!" :D

Careful with the purchase of a Speedmaster. They have become crazy collectable, and some of them go for tens of thousands. Better to get a newish one, either a "moon watch" or a '57 version.

bitman84 likes this.
  4. JwRosenthal Nov 13, 2020

Welcome! We have a few photographers here (myself included) so you are in good company.
    Lots of great resources here- start with all the stickies “particularly learning to fish” and Speedy 101 and spend lots of time learning. The classifieds here are a great safe place to shop, they are member monitored and shady watches don’t make it through. You don’t need 200 posts to reach out via PM to a seller, just to post there.
    And yes- you need to post watch pics of your Breitling

5. MtnMarine Nov 13, 2020

Looking forward to pics of your speedy! Welcome to this great site.

6. bitman84 Nov 16, 2020

Yes, I am treading carefully with regards to purchasing my first Speedy. I would like one from my birth year (1984) and am researching the pitfalls that might come with buying an older watch.