Forums Latest Members
  1. cj3209 Jan 25, 2020

Noob here. Just picked up a gorgeous speedy `57 and love it.

I've avoided steel bands because it irritates my wrist which is why I got a leather band. Also use rubber band on my fitness watch.

But would like to get a metal watch later and was wondering if I have to get a titanium band?

2. M'Bob Jan 25, 2020

Not clear if your skin is reacting to the steel as an allergic response or from friction?

3. cj3209 Jan 25, 2020

It's from the steel. It doesn't happen with my rubber strap.

And I do think my skin is sensitive to the steel. Same with my eyeglasses...sigh...

4. wagudc Jan 25, 2020

If you are alergic to the nickel in stainless, than this may be true. Even some gold contains nickel.

Foo2rama likes this.
  5. scapa Jan 25, 2020

My wife suffers from this. White gold (18k) is an option for nickel allergies -- but your watch choices are limited, and expensive. Titanium is a good alternative and we finally settled on a titanium Tudor. No problems after that, but not sure if there's a Ti band available for the Speedy 57. You can also try something like NickelGuard, although it can be a pain to use. Link below might be useful:

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/nickel-allergy/symptoms-causes/syc-20351529

cj3209 likes this.
  6. Canuck Jan 25, 2020

Very often, skin reactions are not from the metal itself. But from the secretions of the skin which include acids, salts, bacteria, and other secretions. So it might be said the skin is reacting to itself, in a way. These secretions tend to accumulate under the attachment on the watch, and like skin elsewhere, should be frequently washed and rinsed. And the surfaces of the watch and bracelet rinsed as well.

7. jcmartinez98 Jan 25, 2020

Agree that it’s possibly a nickel allergy if it happens with steel and not rubber bracelets.
    I bet you could find out from omega if there’s any nickel in their titanium bracelet to avoid “finding out the hard way...”