Forums Latest Members

Shopping Around & Dealership Etiquette

1. C-Man May 16, 2019

Hello folks! I am new to these parts, and at the moment, I am shopping around for what is my holy grail watch, an Omega Speedmaster Professional. I am not wealthy by any means, and this purchase is the result of me saving my hard earned cash for a very long time to buy this watch. In doing research, I was curious if there is a certain etiquette one needs when walking into their local AD when shopping around for prices and such beyond the obvious when going into any place expensive?

WatchCor and superfly like this.
  2. Evitzee May 16, 2019

If you know you are not going to buy from an AD but only going in there to try the watch on before going online and ordering at a discount, ie showrooming, I think that is poor etiquette. If you are open to buying from the AD after some negotiation and getting a good feeling that they will be there for you when you have a problem, need an adjustment, or a new strap then go into the AD and see how it all works. A bricks and mortar store has costs that an online seller doesn't have, that's reality.

An AD can sweeten the pot with a leather strap and deployant buckle as a free add on, the Geneva boutique did that two years ago. And they can throw in an Omega pen and other freebies to close the sale, and a half-bottle of champagne. Every little bit helps.

Edited May 16, 2019
    Tet, KAP, WatchShopping and 5 others like this.
  3. lillatroll May 16, 2019

I think it is important to go to a shop and try the watch on. You can never really know if you like something before you try it on and a shop might have something you like more.
    I don t think there is anything wrong with going to a shop and telling them you are interested in buying a watch and trying a few on. You might decide you like the salesperson enough that you want to buy from them regardless of price.