Forums Latest Members

Shipping an Omega from the UK to the USofA... How? Best?

1. msp1518 Feb 5, 2015

I just shipped a watch to the UK via USPS Registered Mail. "Time piece for repair" was listed on the custom form. All seems to be going well. I sent my SM300 to Archer in Canada that way and it arrived a-okay.

Now I am looking to buy a watch from a gent (and fellow forum member) but am wondering the best way to securely have the watch sent to me in North Carolina without it... A. Being Stolen... and B. Paying a big customs fee.

I've no experience at this, but have read Fed-Ex, UPS and DHL will gauge and murder you with fees and pretty much hold a watch hostage.

Advise? ::confused2::

2. Northernman Lemaniac Feb 5, 2015

Repeat the success from earlier.
    It is also my personal favorite method for much the same reasons.

Waynepjr likes this.
  3. msp1518 Feb 5, 2015

It looks like it's the best option. I just wanted to hear from some who ship out of the UK.

4. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Feb 5, 2015

USPS Express Mail International is probably the quickest method. Registered Mail is much slower, but more secure.

I don't think either will insure jewelry or watches over a certain amount ($500, but don't quote me on that). So you need to find an outside company that will insure the shipment or trust USPS and Royal Mail to do their jobs.

The private couriers don't insure either.
    gatorcpa

5. Northernman Lemaniac Feb 5, 2015

From the UK the USPS equivalent will be Royal Mail. Their international "signed for" service has never let me down.
    Forget insurance if it is not a very expensive piece. In that case I would consider other options, including added insurance (expensive!).
    Cheers!

6. msp1518 Feb 5, 2015

1400 is a lot of money to me. :eek:

7. Northernman Lemaniac Feb 5, 2015

Agreed ;)
    But it is borderline in terms of what to do.

8. Alpha Kilt Owner, Beagle Parent, Omega Collector Feb 5, 2015