Forums Latest Members

Share your watch talk stories (or watch talk makes things more fun)

1. ossfm Jul 7, 2016

Warning: long post. The summary is that watch talk makes a conference more interesting. I'm sure there are some other really good stories you guys can tell. Let's hear them.

This is my first year working our annual computer conference since starting with the watch hobby. I was excited at what I might see; I hoped there might be a lot. Here was a chance to know, are mechanical watches really a niche product and not really appreciated by many others? Would everyone have smart watches, since this is a computer conference after all? I wasn’t really sure what to expect.

I scheduled some time in Charlotte on my own on Thursday. I was looking for service/repair options. The small town I live in and the larger town I live next to don’t have a selection of watch makers that will work on my recently acquired 145.022-69 Speedmaster. They would work on a time only watch but the chronograph was too much. I ended up finding what I think is a good candidate in Charlotte. They employ 2 watchmakers on site. I was able to talk to both of them. One has been there since 1980 and the other since 1988. They said they would hire another if they could find one. Interestingly enough to me, they both had European accents. All that taken together seemed like a good situation. I went to 2 other places that were not quite so impressive.