Forums Latest Members

Seeking advice on vintage Sturmanskie

1. Strangedream Jan 3, 2020

Hi everyone,
    Since I got my Speedmaster Moonwatch I've been into collecting space watches. I'm too broke to afford a 321 Speedy right now, so I'm eyeballing a genuine Sturmanskie. After some initially research I found out that Gagarin most likely wore a Sturmanskie 17j (33mm) on his first space flight. Still according to my research, the 17j was produced from 1954 to early 1960's.

I found a "full set" Sturmanskie on the bay for US$850, however I have doubt about the legitimacy of the box and paper. The paper is dated from 1952 - 2 years prior the 17j - and the paper number doesn't match the movement number. The watch looks genuine on the other hand. So here are my questions:

1) Can you confirm this is not a full set, but rather a repackaged unit?
    2) This listing has been on eBay for couple months now, what price would you recommend for this (with/without box/paper)?
    3) Any other remarks/observations?

I'm new to vintage watches so thanks for your help!

s-l1600.jpg s-l1600-1.jpg s-l1601.jpg
    Edited Jan 3, 2020
  2. wagudc Jan 4, 2020

I have done research on this myself, but it seems there is a ton of fraken / fakes out there. I gave up on the search. I would be very skeptical. $850 is a lot for such a watch. I have a couple of Russian watches and the "expensive" ones are $75.

janice&fred and Strangedream like this.
  3. wagudc Jan 4, 2020

Check out this thread. Some folks there read Russian, perhaps some could weigh in on the paperwork.

https://omegaforums.net/threads/anyone-speaks-russian.94358/

4. krogerfoot Jan 4, 2020

WUS user mroatman has been an invaluable source of information for Russian watch enthusiasts. It's been a few years since I've communicated with him, but I've always found him to be a generously knowledgeable correspondent.

Strangedream and GordonL like this.
  5. GordonL Jan 4, 2020