Forums Latest Members
  1. stephenB Sep 8, 2013

Hi Everyone,
    Military watch collector here, thought I might dip into the Omega world. Please could anyone offer an opinion on this one that I am thinking of buying. I am waiting for pictures of the back and inside, any comments or thoughts would be much appreciated. Apologies if it has been discussed before.
    Thanks Stephen.
    [​IMG]

2. Stewart H Honorary NJ Resident Sep 8, 2013

I'm no expert on these but my initial observations from the reference material I have is that:

The bezel insert is missing.
    The lollipop second hand looks right for the watch but for the of hour & minute hands look to be later replacements that don't go with the lollipop.
    It is difficult to tell the originality of the dial from that photo, but I think it could be a redial when you look at the writing if you try to enlarge it.

3. stephenB Sep 8, 2013

Thanks Stewart, I have tried to find one to compare it with. Not sure when it dates from, would the bezel insert be plain or numbered?

4. Central Scrutinizer hangs out in Joe's garage Sep 8, 2013

Hi, I'm interested to know, do you restore watches why you are considering a buying a vintage in this condition? On top of what esteemed member Stewart H has pointed out, I doubt the minute and hour hands go with that case reference. It would require considerable skill to bring that one back to life. Do you have a case reference etc for it?

5. Central Scrutinizer hangs out in Joe's garage Sep 8, 2013

If the lolly pop second hand is from the original watch it is an earlier version of this one

[​IMG]

There a similar watch in the for sale section from one of our most esteemed members that you could just wear and not have to go through a significant restoration Here

6. cristos71 Sep 8, 2013