Forums Latest Members
  1. KRS111 Jun 3, 2015

Please be gentle with me I'm a noob. I have always admired Omega watches and now that I have my first job after leaving Uni, I can finally afford one. I have found the one I want (in a local auction), but before I jump in at the deep end, I have a couple of questions.... Is the strap on the watch original? I have only seen leather straps on these and how do I know if it's mechanical or wind up? Also, if anyone could advise me of the model number I'd be grateful.
    Thanks in advance for any info you knowledgeable people can give me.

22aaa.jpg 111aaa.jpg
  2. lillatroll Jun 3, 2015

hello,
    Congratulations with the new job.
    The refrence number for this model is 135017 and it has a manual 601 movement. There is another one with the reference 166035 which has a selfwinding movement and a 752 cal inside. The crystal should have an omega logo in the centre that is difficult to see unless you look for it. It should have tool 107 on the case back.These watches were produced from the late 60s until the early 70s.
    I am not sure if the bracelet is original or not. The only one I could find on the internet and claimed to have an original bracelet was different to yours but that does not mean it is true. Most of them were sold with a leather bracelet on them I believe. There should be a number on the bracelet that you can cross reference to give you an idea of what watch it belongs to.
    They are nice watches and under appreciated, the good thing about that is that they are reasonably priced. If you are going to buy this then it will probably need a service so you should factor that into the cost. Have a look on chrono24 and ebay to give you an idea of what you should be paying for this watch. Its not exact but will help you determine roughly what these go for.