Forums Latest Members
  1. RandyTime Oct 13, 2014

I have the opportunity to purchase a Seamaster 2257 with a 1953 serial number Calibre 354 movement with a black waffle dial. I have attached two photo's of the watch dial. It is also marked "SWISS" under the 6 o'clock marker but is not visible in the attached photos.

My questions are:

1. Is this a redial? (Please note the lack of minute dots on the watch face.)
    2. Has Seamaster 2577 22 SC Calibre 354 p.1.jpg Seamaster 2257 22 SC Calibre 354 p.2.jpg
    2. Has anyone seen similar dial furniture (particularly the 12 o'clock marker) an Omega Bumper Seamaster?
    3. How much does part of the 3 o"clock marker being missing devalue the watch?

I would greatly appreciate help as I'm a novice Omega enthusiast. Seamaster 2577 22 SC Calibre 354 p.1.jpg Seamaster 2257 22 SC Calibre 354 p.2.jpg

2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Oct 13, 2014

Looks original to me. Very nice watch from the outside.

Are you sure it's a Ref. 2257? I can't find one like it online. The missing marker does hurt the value.

Hope this helps,
    gatorcpa

3. hoipolloi Vintage Omega Connoisseur Oct 13, 2014

1. Is this a redial? (Please note the lack of minute dots on the watch face.)
    Yes, I think so. The lack of the minute markers and the M of Automatic
    2. Has anyone seen similar dial furniture (particularly the 12 o'clock marker) an Omega Bumper Seamaster?
    No I have not
    3. How much does part of the 3 o"clock marker being missing devalue the watch?
    About 1/4 the value of the watch.

By looking at the case I think it should be a 2577 (?)

Giff2577 likes this.
  4. ulackfocus Oct 13, 2014

I've seen a couple black dialed Seamasters from the 50's with similar dial furniture -especially the patterned dials like that.

As far as being a redial or original, the pictures are too blurry to be conclusive.

5. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Oct 13, 2014