Forums Latest Members
  1. cato Mar 27, 2013

Found this on ebay uk : RARE70sVINTAGE OMEGA SEAMASTER CHRONOGRAPH CAL1040 GORGOUS BLACK/GREY DIAL & BOX link -http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321085083454?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649#rpdIdPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network my question is does this look the real deal or not? I am a total novice! Price is £1500 but bit of movement (npi) on the price. Thanks

2. SpikiSpikester @ ΩF Staff Member Mar 27, 2013

It's not spectacular, but is ok.

The case looks good & not many of these still come with the correct bracelet, as this one does. Not sure if the hour hand is newer than the the minute hand - but that isn't a massive problem unless you are a stickler for total originality. The movement looks like it needs a clean & service, so factor in an extra £200-300 for that.

As for price, a really nice one of these went for about £1000 on ebay US recently & I was kicking myself for not bidding a bit higher. £1500 seems to be a fairly standard asking price in the UK, but these aren't massivlely sought after & you should try to get the price closer to £1000/1200 IMO.

Hope this helps.

3. cato Mar 27, 2013

That really does help . Much appreciated. Its literally my first watch in twenty years and first step into something over £50 to boot. So really just trying to make sure its not a fake (as much as poss from slightly out of focus pics ) Thanks again.

4. SpikiSpikester @ ΩF Staff Member Mar 27, 2013

Yes, it's a real Omega :) It's a 176.007 - you should see that number stamped inside the case back & you can look it up on the Omega Vintage Watches Database.

Just google " Omega Vintage Watches Database", click on "search" then enter ST 176.0007. (nb. sometimes on these 60's/70's watches you have to add an extra 0 for the database to find the watch).