Forums Latest Members

Removing and refitting new crown on vintage seamaster..

1. decwright Jan 3, 2014

Hi all,

as some of you may remember from my previous post, I have a vintage seamaster in all original condition, the only thing that had been changed was the crown. So I ordered a genuine crown with the omega emblem from Cousins. It arrived today and id like to fit it myself if possible. Can anyone tell me if this is something I could do myseIf? The watch has the 565 calibre movement with the quick date crown.

Regards,

Declan

2. John R Smith Jan 3, 2014

Declan

Do you have a case-opening tool for an Omega screw-in back? Do you have a set of watchmaker's screwdrivers? Do you have a good-quality pin-vice?

3. ulackfocus Jan 3, 2014

Step by step procedure:

1) put new crown in pocket
    2) put watch on wrist
    3) drive to watchmaker's shop
    4) hand watch and new crown to watchmaker
    5) leave and wait for watchmaker to call saying it's finished
    6) drive back to watchmaker's shop, pay him, and enjoy the watch.

Voila!

Petervl, MtV, gatorcpa and 3 others like this.
  4. decwright Jan 3, 2014

Hi,

i do have a set of watchmakers screwdrivers but unfortunately I do not have the case back removal tool or a pin vice. I was unsure on how hard the crown was to remove as I read somewhere that it could be as simple as pushing the new crown into place. But your comment suggests otherwise. Thanks again

5. John R Smith Jan 3, 2014

Declan - sorry, I was not trying to take the piss. But yes, it does involve opening up the watch, removing the stem and crown from the movement, removing the crown from the stem . . . well, you get the picture. And things can go wrong, if the two crowns are different, and the length of the stem suits one but not the other.

Which is why the Dennis Method is by far the safest bet!

decwright likes this.
  6. decwright Jan 3, 2014