Forums Latest Members
  1. Croget Jul 29, 2017

Hello,

I have a Vintage Speedmaster 321 crown Old Logo straight lugs. Unfortunately the stem snapped and now it is inside the tube.

Any ideas on removing the stem?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Canuck Jul 29, 2017

Prescription? New stem and crown.

IanP, Foo2rama and Larry S like this.
  3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jul 29, 2017

The broken stem can be dissolved out of the crown using a mixture of alum and water. Here is an example with the stem broken off inside the crown:

[​IMG]

You dissolve as much alum in warm water as the water will hold:

[​IMG]

Place the crown in the solution, making sure that the solution is in contact with the broken stem. Periodically clean out the black residue that builds up in the tube:

[​IMG]

May take a couple of days since the surface area is small, but I have saved countless crown using this method. Simple and cheap save...

Cheers, Al

MtV, loock202, ckhaing and 47 others like this.
  4. 2ar2c1 Jul 29, 2017

found this info online:
    Alum solution has the property of dissolving steels while not affecting aluminium or base metals, and can be used to recover workpieces made in these metals with broken toolbits lodged inside them.

befobe and Radiumpassion like this.
  5. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jul 29, 2017

Alum will not dissolve stainless steel, so it works fine for removing a carbon steel stem from a stainless steel crown...I've done it many times.

Eve, WestCoastTime, loock202 and 20 others like this.
  6. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Jul 29, 2017

Thanks Al :thumbsup:
    Great knowledge for all to know.

Jerseyhammer and Baz9614 like this.
  7. Horologist Nov 12, 2017

I had the same problem with a Rolex sub crown snapping at the end. Big$$$$$ to replace it,

I left it in apple cider vinegar for approx one week and it dissolved everything out and crown was as good as new

8. Taddyangle Convicted Invicta Wearer Nov 19, 2017