Forums Latest Members
  1. VintageNoob Mar 11, 2014

I have been bitten by the vintage watch bug, and this was my first (uninformed) purchase. Is the watch real/original, a fake, or a frankenwatch? I've been lurking in the forums for a week or so and there really is some great info here. My observations - Really clean for a 50+ yr old gold plated watch. Movement looks authentic. Quadruple signed (crown, dial, movement, case). Omega appears to make this dial from their database. I don't see anything that is visually off, but I'm no expert. I just can't seem to make Omega's database, the case markings, and the caliber match up with a specified model. Is Omega's database exhaustive or are some models missing.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-196...D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

Guidance on the authenticity of the watch would be greatly appreciated, and what it was that I missed.

I'll have to admit this damn watch fetish is addictive and I can foresee myself spending lots of money & time on it in the future, so I would like to be informed. If anyone has any good suggestions for beginner's books, blogs, etc. they would be greatly appreciated.

2. cristos71 Mar 11, 2014

It looks like a very nice Omega Geneve. The case looks to be in great shape with a nice, sharp bezel. The calibre 601 is a very good manual wind calibre, I have one myself and it keeps excellent time and is also quite pretty to look at.:)

I would say you did well at that price and that your watch is a fine introduction to vintage Omega:thumbsup:

VintageNoob likes this.
  3. Joe K. Curious about this text thingy below his avatar Mar 11, 2014

Your watch is genuine and seems to be all original. The only thing I am uncertain about is the crown, is the logo colored in black?

VintageNoob likes this.
  4. Time Exposure coordinates his cast with his car's paint job Mar 11, 2014