Forums Latest Members
  1. SunTiger Apr 16, 2021

Hi everyone!

I have a Seamaster that is 11 years old. It was my wedding gift and is an amazing watch. It's in near perfect condition and runs great! I have zero issues with this watch. It has never been serviced, but I know its a bit over due.

I took a look at the Omega website and it looks like its about $550 to have this done. No problem. My question is this.. it appears in that service, that Omega will do everything to it.. (totally take it apart, service, replace parts as needed, re-polish case etc).

That's incredible.

So.. I have to ask then... If this is the case (flat rate of service) then, does it really matter how long I go between service intervals? Example, 5years vs 10, etc. Or even just letting it go and go until I DO have an issue etc.

I know there are tons of thoughts on this, and I am not looking to open a "can of worms". I just wanted to kinda verify that if the watch needs several parts, the Omega service covers it and wont cost more than the $550.

Thanks so much guys!
    T

2. Dan S Apr 16, 2021

From a purely financial perspective, there is some truth to what you say, and this has been noted in previous threads.

3. SunTiger Apr 16, 2021

Thank you. Yeah, this was very interesting to me. For example, I have another watch (Sinn 104) and there is a service rate of close to $450 and then it can go up depending on the parts needed etc. So, in that case it would make more sense to be a little more "proactive" on sending it in etc. So, it's interesting that Omega offers what they do. This really becomes a great value and provides a bit more confidence to just wear the watch and not worry so much, lol.

4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Apr 16, 2021

Indeed, I often tell people that with a modern watch, waiting until there's a problem may be the best way to go financially.