Forums Latest Members

Quick hello with some questions!

1. txmercguy Aug 20, 2015

Hey everybody. Just wanted to pop in and kinda introduce myself. I'm not yet an Omega owner, but saving to be one. More specifically a used Speedmaster Professional 3570.50. Since this is my first time buying a higher end watch, I've got a couple questions.

What are some good questions to ask the seller? Service history, how it was used, etc?
    What is the suggested interval between servicing, and how much does it generally cost?
    Finally, what would be a reasonable price to pay for a nice used 3570.50? I've seen them anywhere from $2800 to $3700 USD.
    Thanks in advance!

2. Nobel Prize Spell Master! Aug 20, 2015

Quick Hello Back!!

Good questions...there are no BAD questions but:
    - is he/she original Owner- If not what is the provenance of watch
    -Does it come with box papers and original parts?
    -Is it all original or has it been modified in any way
    -Year of Original purchase
    -Service or repair history
    -Return policy, authenticity warranty and what time period is allowed for authenticity check. (Basically how long do you have to verify authenticity and will he accept return if not authentic or misrepresented
    -Is ti keeping good time and are all functions working as they should (you'd be surprised and better to have an answer in writing)

- I always ask: What time is it?

Suggested time between service?
    -there are different views but save to say 4 years if used daily and up to 8 or so if not. This said there are some watchmakers that will tell you to service only when malfunctioning...but most will advice you to at least getting it checked within that timeframe (4 to 8 years)

Cost of Servicing?
    - You're looking at a start point of a few hundred dollars but it can climb up depending on what parts need changing. Of course the Omega repair center will charge more...an independent watchmaker less. so work it out.

Price?