Forums Latest Members

Question about mainspring winders

1. NotAClue Jan 16, 2023

I was thinking about buying a kit but they are quite expensive and I want to buy the “right one”.

I’m just an amateur that has no intention in becoming a professional watchmaker but I find therapeutical dismantling and reassembling such amazing mechanisms as watch movements are :)

Normally an only touch very inexpensive watches but I after a while doing this as an hobby I find a mainspring winder kit indispensable to do a “proper service” even at a very amateur level.

My questions are: do you need left and right hand winders? Chinese copies should be the place to start? Are there alternatives to Bergeon?

I see lots of kits being sold and I must confess that I’m a bit lost

thank you all in advance

2. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Jan 16, 2023

For a hobby watchmaker I think the "generic" sets are OK.
    Just make sure that the arbor pin is steel and not brass or copper.
    You also don't need left and right hand sets.
    If your mainspring is left hand wind, you can wind it RH and then put it in a mainspring washer, flip it over and press it into the barrel.

NotAClue and RevZMan123 like this.
  3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jan 16, 2023

I would look for vintage sets. There were other manufacturers than Bergeron back in the day and some of the sets made by other makers to for a lot less money.

To be honest, I rarely use mine, since I install a new spring in each watch I service, so the only time mine sees use is if I’m installing a spring with a special end, like a tee end.

4. RevZMan123 Jan 16, 2023

I've been looking for vintage ones in the $100-200 range. The cheap Chinese ones aren't really worth it ... Watch a review and see them come with brass studs and the handles broken off. I have seen a guy who sella 3d printed ones but not sure of the longevity and durability to not send plastic fragments everywhere.

NotAClue likes this.