Forums Latest Members

Purchasing my first Omega Aqua Terra

1. Lindkent May 29, 2014

Hello all

I am new to this forum and also a total noob in the art of horology and looking at purchasing my first watch.

I am really interested in the Aqua terra and would like to know if there is anything I need to look out for when purchasing.
    What movements have been used in the aqua terra range over the years and does anyone have any reference pictures so that I know what it should look like
    Are there any tell tale signs of a fake?
    Is this a good place to start my collection and what should I be paying for it?

Any info on this watch would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

2. ulackfocus May 29, 2014

The new AT has the caliber 8500 and is available in 38.5 and 41 mm sizes. I've got the blue dialed 38.5 mm version, nicknamed the 'Skyfall'.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The old AT has the caliber 2500 inside and came in 36, 39, 41, and XXL 49 mm. I used to own a blue dialed 36 mm version.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The new caliber 8500 seems to be having an issue with one of the two mainspring barrels in some watches. It's being repaired under warranty and the watch still runs, just for half the stated reserve time. The old caliber 2500 was prone to stopping suddenly, which was something to do with the lubrication on the escapement because of modifying the co-axial into a 2 plane system instead of it's intended 3 planes like in the 8500. All in all, I'm happier with the new AT.

3. NT931 May 29, 2014

Welcome Lindkent! My first 'nice' watch was an 38.5mm Aqua Terra 8500, similar to the Skyfall but in teak-grey, and it started me down the whole slippery slope of watch collecting and here I am now ;)