Forums Latest Members

Purchased a Speedmaster 145.022-76ST on EBay— hope I did Ok?

1. ajg1960 Jul 15, 2022

Hello everyone. I fully admit I’m no expert and I know many of you are, which is why I’m posting. I bought a 145.022-76ST recently. As a matter of fact, I haven’t even received it yet, so these pics are from the listing. It appears like a good example of a vintage Omega to me, I feel better that it is sent to an “Authenticator” who examines it before sending it to me. Listing describes it as “found”, I spoke to the seller and it was someone’s watch who passed away, you know that old story. Anyway, looking to the forum for opinions. What is original, what is not, the deal I got, etc. I paid $3500. Clearly has a large chunk of black taken out of the insert/bezel, and black flaking on the dial on the edges nearest the bezel. No pics of the movement, the seller had a watchmaker supposedly take these pics and for whatever reason (hope not a really bad reason) no movement pic. Listed as running and functioning. Looking forward (I hope) to your thoughts. I know that leaving it original is typically the majority opinion; maybe replace the insert with aftermarket and keep the original? I feel like that white chunk is an eyesore that will bother me. No service history, so would get it serviced.
    26166005-8420-46E0-A08E-8C22F8A79D98.png 8A40E625-D195-4B40-8389-F1043261A00E.png 85906E2F-C2A9-41AF-AE6C-A85D790B29CE.png A61C037A-A7ED-427F-A4BA-E58B1B0E1068.png 47C49C14-089F-4212-9DC7-20311A88F1BA.png 6916F219-F3FC-457F-B1B5-7EB06FA9AC7A.png 86830230-9283-4698-9441-B184C55452F4.png 43EB0A4D-3050-4190-814C-B81E7613A5EB.png 7ABC5B5A-3095-4B67-8AF2-EB67886369FA.png BD8FCB38-2ED1-4A91-9798-F6B65979AEBA.png 58DEDC0B-863D-41CD-A76A-E55E13ADA06C.png FEAF0898-9E71-4AA6-8DF6-60EBF38F5CCC.png

Edited Jul 15, 2022
  2. Aludic @SpeedyBirthYear Jul 15, 2022

Hi!

This clearly is a well-used Speedmaster, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, by the way...