Forums Latest Members

Procrastination, Depression, Paralysis - A Turning Point

1. GuiltyBoomerang Apr 4, 2018

Omega Forums is a community that I am proud to be a part of.

It is somewhere I like to enjoy reading, browsing and posting.

However, like all things, too much of a good thing is bad. Especially when it comes at the cost of other things.

I admit that I am definitely a procrastinator. I believe I spent time responding to a forum post and mentioned I needed to do university assignments. Those university assignments have not been touched and one is already very late for submission.

And for most of my life, I have been a procrastinator. And I believe that it comes from a lack of self-confidence. I did not pursue studies seriously at school. Inwardly I am not confident. I have been told 'fake it till you make it.'

When I was younger, the only thing that would make my father happy was if I got high marks. So I studied due to a reason. Once that 'dangling apple' was no longer there:

Instead of studying, I played games.
    Instead of studying, I went to the gym.
    Instead of studying, I gambled.
    Instead of studying, I pursued love.

I am not in a relationship now. I stopped gambling when it just was not exciting. I continue gyming to this day. I continue playing games to this day.

I am not asking for any forgiveness in myself. Like all hobbies, watch collecting should be an enjoyable pursuit. It should not, as I myself have found, a quest for instant gratification.

What I have found is, when you go on the hunt for too long, and 'run away' from your priorities, it will bite you. Badly. You will get anxiety attacks. You will be constantly thinking about what you should be doing when you are at work. However when you get back home to work on them, you float towards - you got it - your hobbies.