Forums Latest Members

Patek Calatrava 96 Dial Question

1. Caliber561 Mar 14, 2022

So I recently got to take a look at this 96 with a beautiful grey-silver dial. Under most light, the appears an opaque, smoke gray. Under brighter light, the brushed surface glows with a certain warmth. In the metal, the effect is mesmerizing.

The catch: It might not be original.

The watch is stated as being redialed, but I'm not so sure. Vintage Patek Philippe script has always looked a little 'handwritten' to me, although I'm far from an expert on the subject. The seconds subdial also seems quite well done, in line with the style from other 1950s 96s.

From what research I've done, the dial 'printing' is not actually printing. Instead of the standard use of tampography on a flat surface, vintage Patek Philippe dials used a process called 'champlevé,' where the script was first engraved, then filled in with vitreous enamel. This is why the script lacks serifs, and why it appears slightly raised.

Head-on of the script:
    Script.JPG

Seconds Subdial:
    Seconds.JPG

The semi-raised enamel print, and the glow of the dial in bright light:
    Raised Script.JPG

The details seem to line up, so I do suspect that the seller looked at a modern dial and assumed that was the style of printing this watch ought to have. The watch has a fair amount of wrist cheese between the lugs as well, so if the watch was tampered with, I doubt it was done recently.

Any Patek Philippe collectors out there who can lend an opinion? Or anyone know a good source of information I can refer to for further research?

2. bigsom Mar 14, 2022

For me that is not a redone dial. If so it was redone with raised enamel and firing in the oven as per the original stern made dials.

My 570 has a very similar raised profile.

edit - when I’ve seen these dials redone they’re usually washed so that the starburst metallic finish is what you see. The dial you’re showing still has intact pearlescent enamel.