Forums Latest Members
  1. calalum Apr 20, 2020

Sorry to raise a somewhat mundane issue when Covid is so important, but my stay at home work strategy has not been healthy for my laptop and it is on life support and not expected to survive. I am looking for advice for a replacement unit (to replace my Toshiba Kira) to satisfy the following needs/wants:

1. Windows based, not Apple.
    2. Lightweight (under 3 lbs.).
    3. As large a screen and keyboard as possible.
    4. Touch screen if possible.
    5. Not for gaming, just mainly for typical office work.
    6. Good quality that will last and not need a lot of attention.
    7. Decent battery life.

Thoughts/suggestions? I did some research but it's hard to understand what is really going on. Thanks all.

2. pascs Apr 21, 2020

That really is a difficult question to answer as everyone has different needs and view points.

I used to be a big time computer builder when desktop size was perfectly acceptable, and trying to get maximum performance out of everything, but now that laptops are so powerful and so easy to handle, I havent worked on my desktops for a long time :D

These are just my thoughts but I would go for a mid range laptop which has everything you want but is not at the top of the specs range.

What you want depends what do you want to use it for, just general surfing the web, emails and normal office and photo stuff, then probably nearly every laptop can do that without issue these days. My recent personal experience is with HP and Lenovo, and these have given plenty of trouble free daily use.